Diana's Desserts Forum

Diana's Desserts Forum / The Best Ingredients / Sour Cream substitute Search | Register | Log In
     Reply to this DiscussionReply to this Discussion << previous discussion || next discussion >> 
Posted By Discussion Topic: Sour Cream substitute -- page: 1 2 3 4 5

Printer-friendly Version  new posts last

cupcakegirl 04-18-2007 @ 11:16 AM                           Reply to this Discussion   Edit This Message   Delete This Message.
more info 
I make a yellow cake w/ sour cream instead of milk.  However, could yogurt be a substitute to sour cream?  I notice some recipes call for milk versus sour cream--what difference does it make and can you use either interchangeably?  (I'm new to baking!)

Thanks!

snoboard 04-18-2007 @ 1:06 PM                           Reply to this Discussion   Edit This Message   Delete This Message.
more info 
Yes, you can subsitute yogurt for sour cream, just make sure its <plain> not vanilla yogurt.  I do this all the time, and both ways!

cupcakegirl 04-18-2007 @ 1:21 PM                           Reply to this Discussion   Edit This Message   Delete This Message.
more info 
Great, thank you!  Should I just use plain yogurt?  (And why not vanilla yogurt?)

snoboard 04-18-2007 @ 1:24 PM                           Reply to this Discussion   Edit This Message   Delete This Message.
more info 
I guess I didn't specify which yogurt to use.  Make sure it's PLAIN.(NOT vanilla)  I do this when I'm looking for some Lactose Free sour cream and I don't have any.

snoboard 04-18-2007 @ 1:28 PM                           Reply to this Discussion   Edit This Message   Delete This Message.
more info 
Then you have to worry about flavor imbalances.  I.E.  Too much vanilla flavor.  

snoboard 04-18-2007 @ 1:31 PM                           Reply to this Discussion   Edit This Message   Delete This Message.
more info 
I guess having too much vanilla is not all that  bad,especially anything to do with chocolate.