Diana's Desserts Forum

Diana's Desserts Forum / Baking Tips & Ideas / Baking for 2 Search | Register | Log In
     Reply to this DiscussionReply to this Discussion << previous discussion || next discussion >> 
Posted By Discussion Topic: Baking for 2

Printer-friendly Version  new posts last

taratrick 04-10-2008 @ 3:14 AM                           Reply to this Discussion   Edit This Message   Delete This Message.
more info 
Hi,

I'm new to baking and I was wondering if it's possible to take a recipe for a common cake, etc which is meant for 8-10 people usually and change the recipe measurements to make a cake for just 2-4 people.  

I don't know how to do this and I also wonder how it will affect the cooking temperature and time.  

Does anyone have tips or ideas for me?

Thanks for the help!

nikki 04-10-2008 @ 9:48 AM                           Reply to this Discussion   Edit This Message   Delete This Message.
more info 
Some are easier to scale down than others.  What you could do is make the entire recipe and freeze half.   It gets hard when you have a recipe that calls for 3 large eggs and you have to figure out how to do 1 1/2 eggs. There are "standards" for things like eggs so you could whisk and measure the eggs.  I am all for freezing.  Much easier and you always have a dish in reserve.

"Grandma Ikki"

taratrick 04-15-2008 @ 2:16 AM                           Reply to this Discussion   Edit This Message   Delete This Message.
more info 
I never thought about that idea Nikki.  Thanks for the help!

ydavis 04-16-2008 @ 12:51 PM                           Reply to this Discussion   Edit This Message   Delete This Message.
more info