Vanilla Bean Chiffon Cake
in Guest Recipe Book
(total ratings: 3)
[Read reviews] [Post a review]
Fresh fruit, such as kiwi, orange, pineapple, berries, or grapes are nice choices to garnish this lovely Passover cake, or serve it with whipped cream (with a dairy meal), or non-dairy whipped topping.
1 1/2 cups granulated or superfine sugar
1/2 cup matzo cake meal
1/2 cup potato starch
1 1/2 vanilla beans, chopped
1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
7 large eggs, separated
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 tablespoons brandy
Confectoners' sugar (Pareve)
Serve with fresh fruit such as kiwi, orange slices, pineapple chunks, berries or grapes and non-dairy whipped topping or whipped cream.
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F/180 degrees C.
Blend 1/2 cup sugar, matzo cake meal, potato starch, vanilla beans and salt in processor until beans are finely chopped. Sift mixture into small bowl; discard beans in sieve.
Using electric mixer, beat egg whites in large bowl until medium-firm peaks form. Gradually add 3/4 cup sugar, beating until stiff but not dry. Using the same beaters, beat yolks and 1/4 cup sugar in another bowl until thick, about 5 minutes. Gradually beat in oil, then brandy. Beat in matzo mixture. Fold in whites in 3 additions.
Transfer batter to ungreased 10-inch (25 cm) tube pan with removable bottom. Bake until tester inserted near center comes out clean, about 37 minutes. Immediately invert center tube pan onto narrow-neck bottle. Cool completely. Cut around pan sides to loosen cake. Dust top of cake with Pareve confectioners' sugar and cut into wedges. Serve with fresh fruit and non-dairy whipped topping or whipped cream, if desired.
Can be made 1 day ahead. Cover cake in pan.
Makes 8 servings.
|Date: August 4, 2003|
Vanilla beans are not kosher for passover for ashkinazi jews - kitniyot. only artificial vanilla is KFP.
Vanilla beans are not a "bean" as such, they are from the orchid flower, and therefore are perfectly fine and Kosher for Passover. Using vanilla extract is a different story though, as some brands of vanilla extracts are fermented in alcohol which is NOT permitted. People may use vanilla extract that has not been fermented in alcohol for Passover, if desired.....Diana, Diana's Desserts